Department of Physics, Erciyes University
The Physics Department, one of the four departments of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences established in 1982. The department accepted very first undergrads in 1984-85 academic year and gave its first graduates in 1988. The department initially had one professor, three assistant professors, one lecturer and three teaching assistants, but it reached to a good desired size with new faculty staff in a short time. Hundreds of graduates trained by Physics faculty staff are working at different universities as faculty members, at public/private schools as teachers, and some graduates are working in the private sector and running their own companies.
Starting from 1990 till recent years, the department accepted students for both daytime and evening education, but for a short time period the department didn't get any admissions. Recently, the department accepts 21 undergrads per year. In addition to Turkish students, we receive applications from international students from various countries in the world.
In the past, some of our faculty members taught physics courses at Physics Department at Bozok University and helped for the development of the department there. In addition, faculty members of our department played an active role in the establishment of the Department of Astronomy and Space Sciences.
The department initiated the physics education program in Turkish, but since 2014 the education continues in both Turkish and English.
Our Vision
The Physics Department aims to educate and train its students as individuals who can pursue research with a comprehensive perspective, are eager for new educational opportunities and work for the benefit of the society. In this context, our department's vision is to increase the quality of physics education, increase the number of high-quality publications and improve new international collaborations with research centers around the world. We believe that our efforts in this regard will result in profound impacts and generate great value both for the individual and society.
Our Mission
The Physics Department aims:
  •  to provide both undergraduate and graduate education at universal standards that can compete with the physics departments around the world,
  •  to provide an educational environment, which is student-centered, open to innovations, and based on mutual respect,
  •  to improve student skills such as critical thinking and problem-solving skills, technical skills, collaborative skills, and scientific communication skills,
  •  to provide an interactive and exploratory learning environment, which motivate students to try out and explore different skills and strategies,
  •  to encourage collaborative work and discussions, which urge students to absorb knowledge by working through the problems themselves,
  •  to conduct scientific research and to produce high quality scientific publications that can be used to better understand the nature and for the benefit of society,
  •  to encourage our students to conduct scientific research at national and international laboratories and to produce high quality publications and theses,
  •  and also, to contribute the academicians need of newly established universities in Turkey.
Undergraduate (B.S.) Education
The Bachelor of Science (B.S.) is the traditional degree for a student interested in pursuing graduate school in Physics and Astronomy and a wide range of careers as a professional physicist, astronomer, or science educator. It usually takes 8 semesters, 4 years to complete the degree requirements. For typical schedules and course requirement checklists for the B.S. degree, please check the link below. In this program, the student must complete 240 credits (ECTS) in total with a GPA of at least 2.00 out of 4.00.
Master of Science (M.S.) in Physics
The Master of Science (M.S.) program in physics requires a minimum of 24 semester hours of graduate credit. It is offered with thesis only and it may be a terminal degree or a step forward a Ph.D. The M.S. program usually takes 4 semesters, 2 years. The thesis is expected to be based on the original research findings of the experimental or theoretical investigation by the student. The final examination is oral and conducted by a committee of three faculty members. For the required and elective courses list, please check the link below:
The Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Physics
The doctoral degree in physics is usually completed in 8 semesters, 4 years. The Ph.D. program requires a minimum of 7+1 main graduate courses (3 semester hours each) and a total of 240 ECTS, corresponding to all graduate level coursework. All Ph.D. students must also pass the Qualifying Examination, do original research in experimental/theoretical physics and defend a written dissertation based on the research findings of their original work. By clicking the link below, you can reach more detailed information about the program and the course requirements.
Faculty & Administrative Staff
Currently, there are 25 faculty staff and 1 administrative staff in the department; 13 professors, 6 associate professors, 4 lecturers and 2 teaching assistants. Six of the faculty staff obtained their Ph.D. degrees abroad in the UK and USA, and some of them did post-doctoral research work abroad at different universities and international laboratories, such as CERN and Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (Fermilab). There are some faculty members
in our department who received following prestigious awards and fellowships: TUBITAK Encouragement Award, TMMOB Serhat OZYAR Young Scientist Award, Erciyes University Research Honorary Award, Neutrino Physics Center (NPC) Fellowship at Fermilab and LHC Physics Center (LPC) Fellowship at Fermilab. In addition to national grants from institutions such as TUBITAK and EUBAP, some of our faculty members have also been researchers or PIs/Co-
PIs in international research projects from NATO, DOE (Department of Energy of the US) and National Science Foundation (NSF) of the USA.
In the physics department, we have a wide range of research activities in the sub-fields of physics below, conducted by both faculty researchers and students:
  •  Solid State Physics
  •  General Physics
  •  High Energy and Plasma Physics
  •  Nuclear Physics
  •  Atomic and Molecular Physics
  •  Mathematical Physics
For detailed information for the research groups, please check the professors’ websites and their group links.
Physical Resources
The Physics Department is located on the second floor of the Faculty of Sciences Building at Erciyes University. There are 7 lecture rooms and a seminar room with built-in projection systems and both wired/wireless internet access. The department has 3 undergraduate laboratories for mechanics, electricity and mechanism, waves and optics, modern physics and electronics experiments. There is a physics library in the department, which is serving to both undergraduate and graduate students. There are also 8 research labs led by physics professors in Solid State Physics.
Student Activities
There is a Physics Student Club started and run by our current students. Our students organize scientific, social and cultural events through this club. They also invite scientists from different universities and organize seminar talks etc. Some of our students in the department are supported with scholarships by the Dean’s Office.
Adres : Erciyes Üniversitesi Fen Fakültesi Dekanlığı Köşk Mah. Kutadgu Bilig Sk. Bina:7 38030- Melikgazi / KAYSERİ
Telefon : (352) 437 52 62
Faks : (352) 437 49 33
Öğrenci İşleri : (352) 207 66 66 Dahili: 10500
E-Posta : fenerciyes.edu.tr
Copyright © 2013 - 2014 / Tasarım & Programlama: Erciyes Üniversitesi Bilgi İşlem Daire Başkanlığı Web Grubu